The third Test match between the Proteas and India has began in the city of Nagpur – and the most notable feature of the match so far is the fact that we have lost the toss, again!

India’s captain, Virat Kohli, won the toss early this morning and sent his team to bat, after saying the Bicarbha Cricket Association Stadium presented what looked like a good batting wicket. This, of course, seemed like some bad luck for South Africa after how bad things turned out for us when we lost the toss in what was to be a ‘wet’ second Test in Bangalore, that lasted for a day.

India captain Virat Kohli. picture by:

The hosts went to the middle and lost two quick wickets – Shikar Dhawan (surprise, surprise) for 12, who was caught and bowled by Dean Elgar, and Murali Vijay (lbw b Morkel) for 40 of 84, in the first session. They were eventually bowled out for 215, after some outstanding bowling from Morne Morkel (3-35), South African Sports Awards ‘Newcomer of the Year’ Kagiso Rabada (1-30), and Simon Harmer (4-78).

Morne Morkel had a good day at the office. Picture by:



However, South Africa responded poorly, losing two wickets of Stiaan van Zyl, caught at first slip off the bowling of Ravichandran Ashwin for a duck, and “night watchman” Imran Tahir, bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for four.

Disappointingly, South Africa went with a tail-ender higher up the order once again, after doing it with Vernon Philander in the first Test, which we eventually lost by 108 runs.

It seems like we learnt nothing from that experiment, and as a result stumps were called with South Africa on 11-2 after nine overs. It seems like run-scoring deficiency continues to plague the series.

Day 2 starts tomorrow at 6am.