As local football fans, we are at a time where we cannot dare tell local league champions, Mamelodi Sundowns or their coach Pitso Mosimane, anything about winning because they know the concept all too well.

This is because they, of course, are now no longer just South African league champions, but also the African Champions League champions, too. Because this is something of national importance, I’m going to go ahead and remind everyone that they were crowned last Sunday, 23 October, after losing 1-0 to Zamalek of Egypt but winning 3-1 on aggregate, owing to their emphatic 3-0 win in the first leg of that final.

This means that the Brazilians, as they are otherwise known, have impressively managed to clinch three championship titles in the past ten months (last season’s Telkom Knockout, the league and the Champions League) and are now the undisputed kings of African football.

This gives the club all the bragging rights in the world, and deservedly so.

But they are not the only ones who are in a position to brag at the current moment. I, as a football writer (who often predicts football outcomes), feel that I have earned some bragging rights, too.

I don’t usually like to ‘blow my own horn’, as it were, but with this one I believe that I deserve a little bit of recognition.

So this football writer, whose writing you are reading right now, predicted that the yellow brigade would bring the trophy home at the end of this year’s Champions League season – and this was back in July!

I know, I know, I’m good – thanks for the compliment.

So after celebrating Bafana Ba Style‘s maiden continental title, I had a little interesting conversation with a certain friend of mine, who boldly predicts that the newly-crowned kings of Africa’s reign in the country will be brought to a halt.

This guy who, I must add, is a Kaizer Chiefs fan, says Sundowns will “definitely” fail to defend their league title, and he said this after they had played just one league match. I think that’s quite bold of him, to say the least.

I, however, am not saying that it is a forgone conclusion that they will retain it, but just saying that they should not be taken for granted – not on this continent, anyway.

My league prediction for them will be presented to you, soon. Yes, months in advance.

 

*Picture taken from: guardian.ng.

